State Education Development Agency is managing the Lifelong Learning programmes: Comenius, Leonardo da Vinci, Erasmus, Grundtvig and study visits projects.

Latvia became a fully participating member state in the Leonardo da Vinci Programme in 1998. Through the promotion of international cooperation the programme aims to improve vocational education systems and methods, to establish a unified assessment system within Europe and to promote innovation.

The Programme provides opportunities to acquire life and work experience in a different country, to broaden one's horizons, promote intellectual development and increase the general level of professional knowledge. Projects supported by the Leonardo da Vinci Programme can develop training standards and programmes, teaching and learning materials and methods, establish international information exchange networks, as well as create reference materials.

As of 1 January 2007 the Leonardo da Vinci Programme is incorporated within the new Lifelong Learning Programme.

What is Lifelong Learning programme?

Lifelong Learning Programme integrates existing Socrates, Leonardo da Vinci, eLearning, Europass and other activities of the Community. The aim is to facilitate institutional cooperation in education and training in Europe. At the moment this is a unique programme which contains all levels and types of education and furthermore is available to all persons at any age.

The Programme will perform in the period of January 2007 until December 2013 and it consists of four sub-programmes: Comenius, Erasmus, Leonardo da Vinci and Grundtvig as well as Transversal and Jean Monnet programmes.

The objective of the new programme is to help to implement the strategic goal of EU - to create a competitive, dynamic and knowledge-based economy, provide more and better work places, establish social inclusion, as well as to ensure protection of environment.

What are the objectives of Leonardo da Vinci programme?

The specific objectives of the Leonardo da Vinci programme shall be: 

  • to support participants in training and further training activities in the acquisition and the use of knowledge, skills and qualifications to facilitate personal development, employability and participation in the European labour market;
  • to support improvements in quality and innovation in vocational education and training systems, institutions and practices;
  • to enhance the attractiveness of vocational education and training and mobility for employers and individuals and to facilitate the mobility of working trainees.

The operational objectives of the Leonardo da Vinci programme shall be:

  • to improve the quality and to increase the volume of mobility throughout Europe of people involved in initial vocational education and training and in continuing training, so as to increase placements in enterprises to at least 80 000 per year by the end of the Lifelong Learning Programme;
  • to improve the quality and to increase the volume of cooperation between institutions or organisations providing learning opportunities, enterprises, social partners and other relevant bodies throughout Europe; 
  • to facilitate the development of innovative practices in the field of vocational education and training other than at tertiary level, and their transfer, including from one participating country to others;
  • to improve the transparency and recognition of qualifications and competences, including those acquired through non-formal and informal learning;
  • to encourage the learning of modern foreign languages;
  • to support the development of innovative ICT-based content, services, pedagogies and practice for lifelong learning.

Who and how can participate in the Leonardo da Vinci programme?

The activities of the sub-programmes are decentralised and promoters submit project proposals to their National Agencies which are established in the member states.

Only legal bodies - organisations, establishments, enterprises, training providers and other bodies, having links with vocational education and training, can submit project proposals. It is necessary to involve partners from other countries participating in the programme in project implementation.

Which are acceding countries?

All together 31 countries participate in the Programme:

  • EU member states - Austria, Belgium, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary , Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxemburg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, the United Kingdom
  • EFTA/EEA countries - Iceland, Norway, Liechtenstein,
  • Associated countries - Turkey.

List of National Agencies addresses:

Who administrates the Lifelong Learning programme in Latvia?

VIAA (State Education Development Agency) administrates Leonardo da Vinci programme;